Published: Tue, May 30, 2017
Sports | By Phillip Butler

Individuals can win games but team work can win titles: Rohit

Mumbai Indians won the title for the third time in the history of the tournament which turned 10 this year. Rahane started beautifully but Pune lost Tripathi soon. This is also the first time since 2008 that a team finishing first in the Points Table has lifted the trophy.

Over the last seven weeks, in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Jasprit Bumrah hardly put a foot wrong. If it was not for the brilliance of Krunal Pandya (47), the "blues" would have found it hard to cross 120 and provide some resistance to their nemesis this season. He is a big game player.

Pune seemed to be cruising at 98-2 in the 17th over with Smith and Dhoni at the crease but Mumbai had other ideas in their fourth appearance in an IPL final. Although Rohit and Krunal Pandaya tried to build up a partnership but wickets continued to fall as Rohit departed and was followed by Keiron Pollard, Hardik Pandya and Karn Sharma; 4 major wickets had fallen within a span of 23 runs from 56/3 to 79/7.

A 50-run stand in the end between Krunal Pandya (47) and Johnson (13 not out) provided some consolation for Mumbai in the end as they finished their innings at 129 for eight.

Mumbai Indians players with IPL 10 trophy after they win the IPL 10 Final match against Rising Pune Supergiants in Hyderabad on Sunday. So our talk was that we try and make 140 so we may even get to 160. Smith soldiered on and kept Pune in the hunt.

Johnson, who took two wickets in the last over, said " I wasn't thinking much. MS Dhoni joined Smith and he could not finish the game as was expected.

With 47 needed off the last five, it is usually the batting side who fancy their chances but with the pressure of a final, it was easier said than done.

The two banned franchises - Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals - are all set to come back in the next edition of the league, having served two year suspensions for their involvement in 2013 spot-fixing saga. Then Lasith Malinga and Bumrah again ensured Pune would only get two boundaries across the 18th and 19th. Last over was given to Johnson.

But Sharma´s four boundaries were the only bright spot in his 22-ball 24 before losing his wicket to leg-spinner Adam Zampa.

Krunal was adjudged the Man of the Match for his brilliant knock.

The left-arm Australian pacer clinched three wickets giving away just 26 runs. Both the Orange and Pink caps went to Sun Risers Hyderabad with Davind Warner for highest score in the series and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar for highest number of wickets.

Like this: