Published: Thu, August 31, 2017
Medicine | By Rogelio Lindsey

Bypoll results: BJP bags 2 seats, AAP wins Delhi prestige battle

Bypoll results: BJP bags 2 seats, AAP wins Delhi prestige battle

Parrikar is contesting on a BJP ticket and is pitted against Congress nominee Girish Chodankar and Goa Suraksha Manch's Anand Shirodkar.

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari took responsibility of the defeat of party candidate Ved Prakash, stating that the causes of his defeat will be reviewed.

The AAP won by nearly 24, 000 votes this year after the final round of counting while the BJP earned 35,834 and Congress earned 31,919 votes. The Congress, which had till 2013 ruled Delhi for 15 years straight, had drawn a blank in the assembly elections in 2015 and continues to have no presence in the assembly.

Bawana, a reserved constituency in North West Delhi includes a large number of rural areas. AAP candidate Ram Chander bagged 59,886 votes in the bypoll, while the BJP that had fielded AAP turncoat Ved Prakash, finished a distant second with 35,834 votes.

In 2015 assembly polls, AAP had got 1,08,928 (57.91) votes. Having lost Pratapsingh's ambitious son to the BJP, the Congress could well be staring at the loss of at least three seats to the saffron party in this part of interior Goa in the future if it doesn't work to counter the Ranes' influence in the Sattari taluka. The BJP remained at the third position in most of the rounds. While the chief minister spread his wings too early in an attempt to become a national leader by fielding candidates in states such as Punjab and Goa, the BJP, on the other hand, is doing the exact opposite and focusing too much on Delhi when it clearly doesn't benefit significantly, if at all from it.

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and Labour Minister Gopal Rai, who has been heading the party's Delhi unit since the recent MCD poll debacle, attributed the success to the AAP's track record in governance.

The by-polls in Nandyal constituency in Andhra Pradesh was a battle of dignity between the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and main opposition YSR Congress Party, both taking the fight to the next level. Nagi Reddy, who crossed over to the TDP previous year, died in April, leaving the vacancy. This by-poll was necessary after the death of sitting MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy who had won the seat by a margin of 3,600 votes as YSRC candidate in 2014 but switched over to the TDP in February 2016. Panaji was a particularly prestigious contest with Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar seeking a re-entry into the Assembly after a stint in Parliament and as the Union defence minister.

Like this: