Published: Fri, June 08, 2018
IT | By Jonathon Greene

Facebook bug set 14 million users’ sharing settings to public

Facebook bug set 14 million users’ sharing settings to public

Facebook said the privacy bug took place from May 18 to May 27 and didn't affect any posts published before that time period.

Facebook said this privacy setting bug affected users posting between May 18 and May 27.

Erin Egan, Facebook's chief privacy officer, said in a statement that the company recently "found a bug that automatically suggested posting publicly when some people were creating their Facebook posts". The company says it was testing out a new feature, one that would suggest people share featured profile items publicly. People could have changed the individual audience setting on posts, but would have had to notice the setting was different from what they'd chosen. In the meantime, Facebook has set any public posts from that period to users' previous default settings, meaning that even users who meant to make posts public will need to reset them to be globally accessible.

Facebook announced on Thursday that millions of users had their privacy settings changed by a software bug that let anyone on the internet read status updates and posts that were intended for only private audiences.

Facebook's latest privacy bug is another result of the platform moving a little too fast...

...

The social network is working to rehabilitate its relationship with users after the Cambridge Analytica controversy, which drew renewed attention to how much data the company collects.

The flaw affected Facebook's system for 10 days in May, but Facebook says it still plans to notify users who were impacted. They'll see a message from Facebook urging users to "Please Review Your Posts" and a link to a list of what they shared on Facebook while the bug was active.

Facebook reassured users the problem has now been fixed.

Facebook said it had reverted the audience settings to users' prior preference. That way, users can reset a post that was inadvertently set to public back to being shared just with friends if they would like.

Like this: