Published: Tue, September 25, 2018
Sports | By Phillip Butler

Messi and Ronaldo to decide world's best young player

Messi and Ronaldo to decide world's best young player

The Croatia captain enjoyed a stunning World Cup in Russian Federation earlier this year and was awarded the accolade at a Gala event in London tonight.

France Football magazine merged its award with the Fifa world player of the year award in 2010, but the pair split again two years ago.

The three-man shortlist for the Best FIFA Men's Player Award was announced earlier this month, with last year's victor Cristiano Ronaldo aiming to collect the prize for a record sixth-time after Lionel Messi was omitted for the first time since 2006. The Ballon d'Or has changed over time.

'It is a real pleasure to play with Luka Modric, who is one of the best players in the world right now, ' the Liverpool defender said back in June.

Ronaldo won the award for the last two years, as well as two FIFA Ballon d'Ors and once claiming FIFA World Player of the Year.

It is for my Real Madrid team-mates, the Croatia national team and all my coaches. Let's see who's up for the Ballon d'Or.

Best Goal "Puskas" award: Liverpool and Egypt worldwide Mohamed Salah won the Puskas Goal of the Year award for his goal against derby rival Everton last season at Anfield.

The Croatia worldwide defeated Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah to win the UEFA award in Monaco.

"It is possible that they won too much and do not like to lose".

However, a shoulder injury suffered early on in the final robbed Salah of the chance to help Liverpool lift the trophy and also meant he was far from peak condition as he led Egypt's World Cup bid.

Marta scored 13 goals and set up six more as Orlando Pride reached the NWSL play-off semi-finals in the United States - earning herself a place in the league's team of the year.

David De Gea, Dani Alves, Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane, Marcelo, Luka Modric, N'Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Cristiano Ronaldo were named to the FIFPro World XI.

The former Marseille, Juventus and Chelsea midfielder captained his country as they won the World Cup in 1998, before guiding them to victory again in Russian Federation in July.

Real Madrid Croatia's midfielder Luka Modric receives the UEFA champions league midfielder of the season award during the draw for UEFA Champions League football tournament at The Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on August 30, 2018.

Like this: