Published: Sun, December 09, 2018
Sports | By Phillip Butler

Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp, Maxwell awards

Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa wins Walter Camp, Maxwell awards

On Friday, Murray will head to New York City for Heisman Trophy weekend.

Kyler Murray is The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, the second straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth overall to win the award since it was established in 1998.

The Buckeyes have the distinction of producing the only two-time victor in Archie Griffin.

Quarterback Angelo Bertelli was the first Heisman victor for the Fighting Irish and won the the trophy in 1943.

While Tagovailoa was voted the best player, he didn't win best quarterback.

The Walter Camp victor has won the Heisman the last five seasons.

- Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor won the Doak Walker as the nation's best running. He beat out Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and West Virginia's Will Grier for the award.

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Murray leads the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8, tied). The Oakland Athletics took Murray with the ninth pick in the Major League Baseball draft in June. Murray now holds the Football Bowl Subdivision (Division 1) record for best passer efficiency rating in a season. Mayfield won the award last season.

Behind Murray, the University of Oklahoma has the top rated offense in the country, averaging over 8 yard per play.

Murray started his career at Texas A&M, where his father, Kevin Murray, set season and career passing records as the Aggies' quarterback in the mid-1980s.

"I think sitting down and watching is kind of important", Murray said.

Like this: