Published: Mon, February 11, 2019
IT | By Jonathon Greene

'Fortnite' account merging cleans up Sony's cross-platform mess

'Fortnite' account merging cleans up Sony's cross-platform mess

Both accounts must have been actively played on before September 28th 2018.

Fortnite surprise-launched for Nintendo Switch at E3 2018.

Epic Games revealed account merging is now possible for Fortnite players. This means that if you have one account on Xbox and one on Switch, you can't merge them with the tool. That's quite a good news story on the back of Fortnite. The Secondary account will be merged with your Primary account and disabled.

It's a relatively straightforward procedure that involves choosing two accounts. "Fortnite" is the most popular game in the world with more than 200 million players worldwide, and it's available for free on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, PC, Android, and iOS.

It should also be noted that gamers must have played on each platform prior to September 28, 2018, while the account can not be banned or disabled. Then, you'll select the secondary account to merge, and Epic will begin the process of rolling the secondary account's V-Bucks, skins and progress into the main account.

Players should be able to find the new merge account options on the official Epic Games.com website, under the account merge option, by using this Account Merge link. You can also use the same Epic account you've used on PlayStation 4 anywhere.

Merging accounts will transfer your V-Bucks and cosmetic items from Battle Royale.

Battle royale game Fortnite has finally introduced account merging for those who play on PS4 and other platforms.

Select the account you want to keep (primary account).

Sony relented by September and embraced cross-play, but that left many players with two Fortnite accounts and no way to merge them. Just make sure you buy nothing new in your second account, you don't want your new items to be lost in purgatory. After that, though, you can move forward with one account that has all of your purchases and any unspent V-bucks. Other items like those from Unreal Marketplace, Creative Islands, and Save the World account level and progress, on the other hand, won't be merged.

The process of merging all your content and V-Bucks takes two weeks. Do you at all play Fortnite on a regular basis?

Like this: