Published: Tue, February 05, 2019
Sports | By Phillip Butler

Tony Gonzalez downplays his Chiefs run, says Falcons made his career

Tony Gonzalez downplays his Chiefs run, says Falcons made his career

The 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame class was announced Saturday at the NFL Honors award show.

Gonzalez is the all-time leader in receptions and yardage among tight ends with 1,325 catches and 15,127 yards.

Gonzalez, drafted in the first round by the Chiefs in the 1997 NFL Draft, played 12 years in Kansas City and then another five with the Falcons after he was traded during Kansas City's rebuilding phase.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held August 3, in Canton, Ohio.

Joining him will be two more first-time nominees, Champ Bailey and Ed Reed, along with another defensive back, Ty Law, and centre Kevin Mawae; Law and Mawae were both in their third year as finalists.

Robinson was the seniors finalist.

Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen was voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday evening.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website. His 12 Pro Bowls are the most among cornerbacks in league history.

Law made five Pro Bowls and was a member of the 2000s All-Decade team. Denver won three Super Bowl titles under Bowlen.

In 2021, it becomes even more of a star-studded field as former Colts and Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, former Packers and Raiders defensive back Charles Woodson and former Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson will be among the first-time-eligible players.

The 48-year-old spent most of his career with the New York Jets and also played with the Tennessee Titans and Seattle Seahawks. He was a five-time All-Pro and a nine-time Pro Bowler who also finished with an absurd nine playoff interceptions in just 15 games. He was a six-time All-Pro and made 14 Pro Bowls. He was named National Football League defensive player on the year in 2004 and was a leader on the Ravens when they won Super Bowl XLVII. Just one week earlier, he thought about the possibility of the Chiefs being in town for the Super Bowl before they fell in overtime to the New England Patriots in the AFC title game. Robinson was a member of the Chiefs' Super Bowl IV championship team following the 1969 season.

Brandt spent 29 years with the Cowboys, where his keen eye for talent helped turn Dallas into "America's Team".

Like this: